Bach's Cello Suite No. 2 in D Minor
in the "Anna Magdalena" manuscript

Below, for your reading and study, is a facsimile copy of the Bach's Cello Suite No.2 in D Minor, BWV 1008, believed to have been made by Bach's second wife Anna Magdalena. Hers is one of four manuscript copies of the Suites. It has been published in several modern editions.

Solo Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor BWV by J.S. Bach in the Anna Magdalena manuscript: Prelude (Pt 1)

Bach Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor: Prelude (concl.), Allemande (beginning)

Bach Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor: Allemande (concl.), Courante (beginning)

Bach Suite No. 2 in D minor, Courante (concl.), Sarabande, Menuetto (beginning)

Bach Suite No. 2 in D minor:Menuetto (concl.), Gigue

The Bach Cello Suites in the Anna Magdalena Manuscript Copies:

Suite No. 1 in G Major

Suite No. 2 in D Minor
Suite No. 3 in C Major
Suite No. 4 in E Flat Major
Suite No. 5 in C Minor
Suite No. 6 in D Major

Compare Suite for Lute in G Minor (Lute Version of Suite No. 5 in Bach's autograph)

Return toLibrary - Reading RoomPablo CasalsHome

Materials currently available:

"The Golden Treasure of San Juan"
"Casals Lives On in Puerto Rico"
The Six Bach Cello Suites (ms)
"Bach's C Minor Suite Was Written This Morning"
"Bach on the Bayou"

Learn more about

The Joy of Cello Playing
Books available online from:

This site created and maintained by Harry Wimmer ( Thanks to Shirley Givens (
for her imaginative illustrations. Thanks to Kevin Wimmer ( for his selfless and expert assistance.
Design and content ©1999 to 2006 by Harry Wimmer. Artwork ©1999 by Shirley Givens.
All materials on this website are limited to personal, non-commercial use.